Leadership Awards FAQ

What are the Leadership Awards?

The AMA Leadership Awards are an opportunity for the larger Alberta community to nominate a leader in museum practice who creates value, accessibility, and relevance, and contributes to engaged communities and a great quality of life.

The Leadership Awards recognize exceptional work and innovative thinking in the museum community. They celebrate achievements in the collection, research, preservation, exhibition, and interpretation of the world around us, which contribute to the social, cultural, and educational fabric of Alberta.

The Leadership Awards Program is grounded in the belief that excellence, innovation, and creativity form the foundation of outstanding museums.


Who can I nominate?

Nominees for the Leadership Awards can self-nominate or nominate others. Nominees can be individuals, institutions, or project teams. Any resident or institution of Alberta can be nominated. Nominees are not required to be members of the AMA. Posthumous nominations are not eligible.


What are the Leadership Award categories?

The Leadership Awards have three categories: Engagement, Sustainability, and Education.

cultivating museum and community interaction

Nominees in this category are continually searching for ways to engage the public with culture. They see museums as a fundamental part of society-as something to be accessed and embraced by everyone. Nominees lend their space and ideas to engaging programming and other activities that take museums outside their traditional roles in society and encourage inclusive conversations. They create opportunities for reconciliation, hope, and healing. Nominees seek to connect people to museum collections in unusual and daring ways. They advocate for museums as evidenced through their everyday work. Nominees engage various communities to tell exceptional stories that could otherwise be overlooked. These initiatives provide meaningful experiences for Albertans to discover more about the stories of the people and cultures that define our history and shape our modern communities.

building organizational vibrancy

Nominees in this category work to integrate the Five Facets of Sustainability (cultural, health and well-being, environmental, financial, and social) into their museum practice. They implement best practices that meet the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs by supporting forward-thinking research, exhibits, conservation practices, and programming. They are seen as leaders due to their bold and inspiring work. Nominees actively lead and participate in community projects and programs that consider environmental and social issues and play an important role in creating a thriving museum sector, both now and far into the future.

facilitating a culture of inquiry

Nominees in this category are innovative in their approach to educational program development and delivery. They view education as a core function of the museum, which is reflected in their collections research and exhibit development. They inspire lifelong learning through participatory programming, interpretation, and artifact engagement, and reach out to diverse audiences and encourage people to think critically about the world around them. Nominees strive to make information accessible to a wide audience by considering the needs of different types of learners, using evaluation tools to understand community impact and refine their approach to programming, and provide opportunities for visitors to experience a sense of curiosity and wonder.


Can I nominate someone for more than one category?

An individual, institution, or project team can be nominated for a maximum of two categories in any given year. Separate nomination packages specific to each category should be submitted. Please note that nominees can receive an award in only one category per year.


What subjects can the submission focus on?

Submissions should address how nominees demonstrate leadership in museum practice and use their work to inspire their peers to do the same. Nominees must be innovative in their approach to improving the quality of life and creating value in their communities.

Submissions can cover a wide range of themes, including, but not limited to:

  • Accessibility
  • Collections management
  • Community engagement
  • Conservation
  • Curation
  • Education
  • Environmentalism
  • Exhibit design
  • Inclusion
  • Interpretation
  • New media
  • Publications
  • Reconciliation
  • Scholarly research
  • Visitor studies
  • Volunteer management


How do I submit a nomination?

All submissions are to be made through the AMA website using the Leadership Awards Nomination Form. A step-by-step guide for preparing a nomination package can be found in the Leadership Awards Nomination Booklet. Please note that any incomplete nominations submitted or nominations that do not meet the mandate of the Leadership Awards will not be considered.

Leadership Awards Nomination Form

When are nominations due?

The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2024, at 4:30 p.m.


How do I find out more information?

More information about the Leadership Awards can be found through the AMA website and in the Leadership Awards Nomination Booklet.

If you have any further questions, please contact awards@museums.ab.ca or 780.424.2626.



Twitter Flickr LinkedIn CEI News